Independent Review Board

“The review board, established by the Diocesan/Eparchial Bishop, will be composed of at least five persons of outstanding integrity and good judgment in full communion with the Church. The majority of the review board members will be lay persons who are not in the employ of the Diocese/Eparchy but at least one member should be a priest who is an experienced and respected pastor of the Diocese/Eparchy in question, and at least one member should have particular expertise in the treatment of the sexual abuse of minors.”

— U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops

In accordance with the Charter for the Protection of Children and Young People adopted by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, the Diocese formally established a Review Board in 2003.

The purpose of the Independent  Review Board is to assist the Bishop in discharging his responsibilities involving the sexual abuse of minors by clerics. 


Dr. Eugene Decker of Bethlehem, Chair

James Doolin

Gwen Millets

Chris J. Moughen

Rev. Michael E. Mullins

Richard P.  Podguski


Promoter of Justice in service to the Independent Review Board

Rev. Msgr. Thomas P. Koons, J.C.L., 


Read more about the Independent Diocesan Review Board here.  

Read an update about the Independent Diocesan Review Board here.