Foundation of Parishes



1741   Bally, Most Blessed Sacrament

1752   Reading, St. Peter the Apostle (SS. Cyril and Methodius, Reading consolidated into St. Peter in 2016)

1827   Pottsville, St. Patrick (Mary, Queen of Peace, Pottsville; St. Joseph, Pottsville, and St. Francis de Sales, Mount Carbon consolidated into St. Patrick in 2008)

1841   Pottsville, St. John the Baptist

1848   Jim Thorpe, Immaculate Conception B.V.M.

1850   Summit Hill, St. Joseph (St. Stanislaus, Summit Hill consolidated into St. Joseph in 2008. St. Katharine Drexel, Lansford [formed by the 2008 merger of St. Michael, St. Ann and SS. Peter and Paul Parish, Lansford and St. John the Baptist, St. Mary of the Assumption and SS. Cyril and Methodius Parishes, Coaldale] and St. Francis of Assisi, Nesquehoning [formed by the 2008 merger of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Sacred Heart and Immaculate Conception Parishes, Nesquehoning] consolidated into St. Joseph in 2016)

1851   Schuylkill Haven, St. Ambrose

1854   Hamburg, St. Mary

1857   Allentown, Immaculate Conception

1857   Catasauqua, Annunciation B.V.M.

1860   Reading, St. Paul

1861   Bethlehem, Holy Infancy

1869   Allentown, Sacred Heart of Jesus (Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Allentown consolidated into Sacred Heart in 2008)

1871   Bethlehem, Holy Ghost

1871   Jim Thorpe, St. Joseph

1883   Slatington, Assumption B.V.M.

1885   Lehighton, SS. Peter and Paul

1891   Reading, St. Joseph

1894   Sheppton, St. Joseph

1897   Roseto, Our Lady of Mount Carmel

1904   Reading, Holy Rosary

1906   Allentown, St. John the Baptist

1908   Nazareth, Holy Family

1908   Palmerton, Sacred Heart

1909   Easton, St. Anthony of Padua

1909   Frackville, St. Joseph (Annunciation BVM and St. Ann, Frackville consolidated into St. Joseph in 2013)

1915   Allentown, St. Stephen of Hungary

1915   Bangor, Our Lady of Good Counsel

1916   Douglassville, Immaculate Conception B.V.M. (Founded in Birdsboro, New church constructed 2004, in Douglassville)

1917   Bethlehem, Saints Simon and Jude

1917   West Reading, Sacred Heart

1919   Kutztown, St. Mary

1919   Allentown, St. Catharine of Siena (1961 - Cathedral)

1919   Fountain Hill, St. Ursula

1920   Easton, St. Jane Frances de Chantal

1920   Reading, St. Margaret

1920   Bath, Sacred Heart

1921   Boyertown, St. Columbkill

1922   Northampton, Assumption B.V.M.

1923   Ringtown, St. Mary

1925   Hellertown, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus

1925   Reading, St. Catharine of Siena ((St. Mary, Reading consolidated into St. Catharine of Siena in 2016)

1927   Allentown, Our Lady Help of Christians

1927   Coplay, St. Peter

1927   Whitehall, St. John the Baptist (Stiles)

1927   Coopersburg, St. Joseph

1928   Whitehall, Holy Trinity (Egypt)

1928   Allentown, St. Francis of Assisi

1928   Allentown, St. Paul

1929   Bethlehem, St. Anne

1929   Reading, Holy Guardian Angels

1929   Pen Argyl, St. Elizabeth of Hungary (St. Roch, West Bangor consolidated into St. Elizabeth of Hungary in 2008)

1929   Martins Creek, St. Rocco

1931   Emmaus, St. Ann

1936   Bethlehem, Sacred Heart

1941   Whitehall, St. Elizabeth of Hungary (Fullerton) (Founded as mission to Sacred Heart, Allentown, January 1, 1928)

1948   Orefield, St. Joseph the Worker (Founded in Fogelsville. New church constructed, 1977, in Orefield)

1948   Shillington, St. John Baptist de la Salle

1950   Barnesville, St. Richard (Founded as mission to St. Canicus, Mahanoy City, June 2, 1947)

1952   Bethlehem, Assumption B.V.M. (Founded as mission to St. Joseph, Coopersburg (Limeport), November 21, 1927)

1954   Bethlehem, Notre Dame of Bethlehem

1955   Mohnton, St. Benedict (Founded 1955; suppressed 1972; re-established 1974)

1963   Bethlehem, Our Lady of Perpetual Help

1965   Sinking Spring, St. Ignatius Loyola

1966   Allentown, St. Thomas More

1974   Walnutport, St. Nicholas

1982   Robesonia, St. Francis de Sales

1989   Lake Harmony, St. Peter the Fisherman (Founded as a mission to Immaculate Conception, Jim Thorpe, December 7, 1982)

2008   Bethlehem, Incarnation of Our Lord (Formed by the merger of Our Lady of Pompeii, St. John Capistrano, St. Joseph, St. Stanislaus, and SS. Cyril and Methodius Parishes, Bethlehem)

2008   Easton, Our Lady of Mercy (Formed by the merger of St. Bernard, St. Joseph, and St. Michael Parishes, Easton)

2008   Mahanoy City, St. Teresa of Calcutta (Formed by the merger of Assumption B.V.M., St. Canicus, St. Casimir, St. Fidelis, St. Joseph and Sacred Heart Parishes, Mahanoy City and Our Lady of Siluva Parish, Maizeville) Name changed from Blessed Teresa of Calcutta Sept. 4, 2016

2008   McAdoo, All Saints (Formed by the merger of Immaculate Conception Parish, Kelayres, St. Kunegunda, St. Mary, St. Patrick Parishes, McAdoo, and St. Michael, St. Bartholomew Parishes, Tresckow. Our Lady of Lourdes, Weatherly [formed by the 2008 merger of St. Mary, Beaver Meadow and St. Nicholas, Weatherly] consolidated into All Saints in 2016)

2008   Minersville, St. Matthew the Evangelist (Formed by the merger of St. Stanislaus Kostka, St. Francis of Assisi and St. Barbara Parishes, Minersville and St. Mary, Star of the Sea Parish, Branchdale)

2008   Minersville, St. Michael the Archangel (Formed by the merger of Our Lady of Mount Carmel, St. Vincent de Paul Parishes, Minersville and St. Kieran Parish, Heckscherville)

2008   New Philadelphia, Holy Cross (Formed by the merger of Holy Family, Sacred Heart Parishes, New Philadelphia and St. Anthony Parish, Cumbola)

2008   Northampton, Queenship of Mary (Formed by the merger of Our Lady of Hungary, and St. Michael Parishes, Northampton)

2008   Saint Clair, St. Clare of Assisi (Formed by the merger of St. Mary, Immaculate Conception, St. Casimir, SS. Peter and Paul and St. Boniface Parishes, Saint Clair)

2008   Tremont, Most Blessed Trinity (Formed by the merger of Immaculate Conception Parish, Tremont, Sacred Heart Parish, Newtown, and SS. Peter and Paul Parish, Tower City)

2014   Catasauqua, St. John Fisher (Formed by the merger of St. Andrew and St. Lawrence Parishes)

2014   Tamaqua, St. John XXIII (Formed by the merger of St. Jerome [into which St. Bertha, Tuscarora and St. Bartholomew, Brockton were consolidated in 2008] and SS. Peter and Paul Parishes)

2014   Shenandoah, Divine Mercy (Formed by the merger of St. Mary Magdalen Parish, Lost Creek and Annunciation BVM, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, St. Casimir, St. George and St. Stephen Parishes, Shenandoah

2015   Ashland, St. Charles Borromeo (Formed by the merger of St. Joseph and St. Mauritius, Ashland; St. Joseph and St. Vincent de Paul, Girardville; and Our Lady of Good Counsel, Gordon)